Aberdeen Evening Cricket League

Recent Gallery Additions

XML feed


One finalist decided...the other still to be so after Allan Park epic

After another Tuesday washout, both Semi Finals went ahead as scheduled on Wednesday. At the Links, Knighriders easily overcame The Rockhoppers to move to final. The Rockhoppers won the toss and batted first but some very tight bowling ensured that they could only manage a sub-par 105/6. A valiant knock of 31* from opener A. Senthil was the backbone of the total as The Rockhoppers climbed to 60 off the first 9 overs. After that, Knighriders put a stranglehold on the rest of the overs and The Rockhoppers could only manage a further 45 runs in the innings. J. Morgan chipped in with 15 before being bowled by Bijil and A. Sood hit a monstrous 6 in his 12. A fine catch on the boundary off of Siva (1/12) ended his stay. M. Barker also accumulated 12 runs but was caught off Bijil just as he was looking to accelerate. A run out off the last ball finished the innings. Bijil finished as pick of the bowlers with 2/14. Mohan and Somi also chipped in with a wicket apiece.

In reply Knighriders raced to a 10 wicket win within 12 overs. Siva followed his economical spell with a brutal display of batting. He hit 3 6s and 3 4s in his 34*. Madhan, his opening partner, hit 22* and played nicely, rotating the strike and allowing the other two batsmen to play around him. The Coup de Grace was provided by Vijay as he too opened up with some powerful hitting. He hit the 4 to seal the match and also his 30*. A Sood bowled economically (0/12 off 3) but the target was much too small to hinder a powerful Knightriders outfit.


The other game was a much closer affair. Cults batted first on their home ground. Openers S Morrison and A. Keith built a solid partnership to provide a platform with which to propel themselves to a good total. However the departure of Keith (20) to the bowling of Toor brought about a middle order collapse as Shell's change bowlers both bowled economically and picked up regular wickets. S. Morrison had to retire on 30* and regular wickets stemmed Cults. Some late hitting from Kuljeet ensured that they finished on exactly a run a ball off their 20. Hamza was the star with the ball as he conceded just 11 off his 4 overs and managed two wickets as well. Farooq (2/18) and Toor (2/26) also managed a brace apiece and Atif chipped in with the wicket of Kulijeet.

 Chasing 121 for the win, Shell got off to a poor start as they lost A. Ahmed in the first over to a catch off H. Saraswat. Durrani an Hamza took shell up to 30 when Durrani was bowled by Saraswat (3/18). Shell were keeping up with the rate but wickets fell at regular intervals. Only Hamza (23) passed 20 and Shell had stuttered to 68 for 7 at the end of the 13th over ( A wicket maiden from Rahul, who finished with impressive figures of 3/16) to give Cults a great chance to win the game. This culminated in Shell requiring 31 off the final 3 overs. The 18th over opened with a pair of 6s to Umair but disaster struck as Rohit (3/28) bowled him next ball for a useful 18. Sarswat returned and bowled the penultimate over. Abid (17) hit him for 6 but was also bowled off the next legitimate delivery. This left the last pair needing 9 to win off the final over. Swapnil was the Cults bowler. A single and a dot opened.  before Atif all but sealed the game with a 6. Shell needed 2 from three balls to win. However disaster struck. After running a run off the next ball Atif and Aamir set off for a second that was never there and resulted in the running out of Aamir! Thus Shell had been bowled out with two balls to spare for...120. The game was a tie. After an innings that had swung so much for Shell, a tie was the final result. As such, the two teams have agreed to play a rematch next Wednesday to determine the final finalist for the Oxy Cup

garyo  30 Jun 2017 - 10:35   
Sponsored By
Thistle Sports

League 1
The Dons53116
Bon Accord32014
Crescent CC30030
The Rockhoppers40040

Powered By

Powered by Drupal

Monitored by pingability