Aberdeen Evening Cricket League

Recent Gallery Additions

XML feed


Cults win Oxy Cup for the third year in a row

On Wednesday 12th July Cults succeeded in winning the Oxy Cup for the third year running. This year they defeated Knightriders, who had set them 130 to win. Cults successfully chased the total down for the loss of 3 wickets (plus two retirees) in the 18th over.

Cults put in a good, economical bowling performance as non of their five bowlers went for over 28. This was backed-up by three run outs in the field. This occurred despite an aggressive 22 from opener Siva. He managed two fours and a six within the first three overs until his dismissal, lbw, to Himanshu (2/28) Unfortunatly for Knightriders, the other opener (Vijay) was run out in the next over to leave them 31 for 2 and Somu followed for just 1, (caught off Himanshu) three balls later. Vikas and Rashid tried to rebuild the innings over the next four and a half overs. Their partnership reached 20 but Vikas fell for 10, caught off Swapnil. Numbers 6 to 8 all chipped in with teen scores but only Rashid passed Siva's 22 to reach his 30no. Mayanil (2/24 picked up a couple of wickets to keep Knightriders in check and, despite Malli's 19no from 8, two run outs ensured there was no late flourish. This meant that Knightriders finished their alloted 20 overs on 129 for 8. (plus 1 retiree)

The Cults reply got off to a shaky start as opener Alex was removed in the second over by Prashant (1/22) This would be the only wicket attributed to a bowler in the innings. Aman and Geet put on a substantial partnership for Cults. Aman amassed 33 runs (4x4s) before having to retire. Geet was run out for 14 but Himanshu flayed the bowlers for a quick 30 (4x4s). Number 5, Sree, focused on rotating the strike but Cults lost there next wicket, Yanki, (11) to another run out but Swapnil (5no) and Sree ensured no other wickets were lost. Sree himself finished the innings with a maximum off Somu to end on 21no and ensured another Cults cup triumph.
garyo  18 Jul 2017 - 19:43   
Sponsored By
Thistle Sports

League 1
The Dons44008
Crescent CC31022
The Rockhoppers40040

Powered By

Powered by Drupal

Monitored by pingability